This is a game I have honestly played countless amounts of times from start to finish. A game that no matter what happens in the gaming world, remains timeless in my opinion. This game I speak of is
none other than The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.

Ocarina of Time was first released back on November 21st, 1998 for the Nintendo It was the first
game I got for the N64, and in all honesty, probably the best game I ever got for that system. Since it’s initial release, the game has resurfaced several times for other Nintendo consoles.

It’s first reappearance was the Ocarina of Time: Master Quest. It was released original version of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, along with a version entitled The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Master Quest, where the game has a higher difficulty and all of the dungeons in the game are switched around, making the map completely backwards! By doing this, Nintendo gave fans of the original
Legend of Zelda title a way to play the game all over again, but in a whole different way, sort of like
playing the game for the first time all over again.

The next time The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time came back was in a neat Disc was a promotional disc that was packaged with some Nintendo GameCubes. On the Collector’s Disc, it contained a trial
of Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker, and four full games. The four full games were the original Legend of Zelda originally released for the NES, Zelda II: The Adventure of Link for the NES, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, and The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask, which was released after Ocarina of Time
for the Nintendo 64, and is also a direct sequel to Ocarina of Time. It also released on the Wii Shop,
where you The latest re-release of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time was for the was a completely revamped version of the original game, with upgraded 3D graphics and all. Also,
after beating the game, you can unlock the Master Quest version.

Now that I’ve talked about the brief history of the game’s multiple release and re-release dates,
let’s talk about the game:

In The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, you start off the game as Link as a child. You awake from
a nightmare, and find yourself talking to a fairy by the name of Navi. She informs you that you are to
seek audience with the Great Deku Tree, the guardian over the Kokiri Forest in which you live. Once
you’ve gone and completed some small tasks in order to gain access to the Great Deku Tree, you
finally meet with him, and he informs you of your true calling: You are the chosen hero who is to
save the land of Hyrule from complete disaster and peril.

The first dungeon you must tackle is inside the Great Deku Tree himself, and once you conquer that,
you will have two more dungeons to complete, all in search of the three Spiritual Stones, the
Kokiri’s Emerald, the Goron’s Ruby, and the Zora’s Sapphire. Upon getting the three stones, you will
be able to access the Temple of Time, and claim the Master Sword. Upon claiming the Master
Sword from the Temple of Time, you are thrown seven years into the future, where peril has befallen
the land all thanks to Ganondorf, who claimed the Triforce for himself and wished for darkness and
evil to overtake Hyrule. Now you play Link as an adult. It’s now up to you to resurrect the seven
Sages, and stop Ganondorf and save the land of Hyrule. You go back to where it all started: The Kokiri Forest where you grew up. The Kokiri Forest is where you take on your first dungeon
as adult Link. From there, you seek out the remaining dungeons, taking you to new parts of Hyrule,
you’ve yet to explore.

Each dungeon is unique in it’s own way, and each very unforgettable. Everyone who has played
the game has their favorites, and their least favorites, everybody’s least favorite being the Water
Temple. Even to this day though I’ve played the game and beat it so many times, I still dread the
Water Temple when it comes time to delve into that dungeon. Out of them all, I’d say my favorite
temple is probably the Spirit Temple, the last temple you take on to release the final Sage.

The entirety of the game focuses on it’s namesake, the Ocarina of Time. This magically musical instrument is what gives you access to the temples of Hyrule, each Temple having it’s own special melody. Melodies such as the Minuet of Forest, the Bolero of Fire, the Nocturne of Shadow, and my personal favorite, the Requiem of Spirit. Having the ocarina to rely on for so much in the game gave
this game an element that was pretty new to gamers back in the day when the Legend of Zelda:
Ocarina of Time was originally released. Ever since then, when I play games that has the instrument element to it, my thought process instantly goes back to Ocarina of Time.

I loved this game personally, as have so many others in the world. I liked it because in my opinion
it wasn’t too difficult, but was still very challenging, and had great controls. They were simple,
but they worked perfectly for the game. For those of you out there who have never played The
Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, I highly suggest it. If you love adventure games with puzzles and exploring, with a RPG feel to it, then you should love this game. You’ll love the elements of fantasy
and whimsy, and how they coincide with the darker elements in the game.

This has been my overview on The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Nightingale, over and out!

Leave a comment